Undelivered Love Letter

Bury me.

Cover me in flames, consume me in fire. Sink me in sulfur and smother me in embers, drag my ashes deep into the darkness…and know that I go willingly.

Anywhere, with you.

Bleed me.

Drain every drop of scarlet from these veins. Water the earth with these liquid rubies, and may anything that grows there bloom for you…an eternal tribute, a perennial praise.

Anything, for you.

Break me.

Rip this body apart, tear off these ethereal wings which were for your eyes only. Crush these bones into a pearlescent powder and scatter it to the winds…so that I might sing the song of your adoration forever.

Always.

Forgive me for the sin of the inadequacy of these words.

Language is misleading, my beautiful tragedy. Absolute perfection would not be good enough for you, let alone my sorrowful, pitiful attempts at articulating such thoughts. Just know that I worship you with every shuddering inhale, with every breath which passes through these lips.

But you deserve more than I could ever give.

Forgive me. I am sorry.

I shall not fight the end with tooth and nail, I will not succumb to it with a heavy heart and a hopeless soul. If it is by your hand, then know I die with my eyes wide open and a smile on my lips. If my halting pulse would please you, then know I pass with the haunting rhapsody that is you echoing in my soul.

I shall cease in my fruitless Flight from Death and face the final dawn…however, wherever that may be.

Anywhere, with you.

Anything, for you.

Always.

 

16 thoughts on “Undelivered Love Letter

  1. Jamie…I don’t think I’ve ever told you this personally. But I think your one of my favorite writers.

    This whole line here I relate to it in the most personal way of how I feel deeply.

    Rip this body apart, tear off these ethereal wings which were for your eyes only. Crush these bones into a pearlescent powder and scatter it to the winds…so that I might sing the song of your adoration forever.

    You write with such dark and deep imagery that I really respect of you and really love how you write and how intellectual you are. πŸ™‚

    From deep in my heart jamie…you are my favorite writer and you are an amazing human being. πŸ™‚

    Cyber hugs. πŸ™‚ Love this prose poem. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwww thank you so much Charlie!!! That’s by far the sweetest thing anyone’s ever said to me in here ❀️❀️❀️ I’m so glad you enjoy it my creepy strange weird writing, haha. Cyber hugs back :]

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I would totally collaborate with you on a poem :] our writing styles are very different, so it could produce some quite interesting, I think. And no, I’ve never written any poetry books before…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You should write a poetry book. You have amazing talent and a phenomenal vision of work. πŸ™‚ I just thought I ask. If you ever decide you want to write a book. Let me know and I’ll buy a copy off you. πŸ™‚

        Yes, we should collaborate. When would you like to collaborate? When are you free?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. How about tomorrow afternoon? What time zone are you in? Also, I’ll be honest- I’ve never collaborated on a poem before, so I’m not really sure how to go about it πŸ˜› do we each write something based on a prompt, exchange what we wrote, and then fit it together? Or do I write something, then you, then me, then so on until it’s ready to be edited? I guess there’s no real right or wrong way…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment