My friend, The Wind.

 

Hello, Invisible Friend.

I was just thinking of you.

Of the way you tickle my skin,

Catching me by surprise when you flutter past,

And making my hair stand on end, every time.

In a good way, darling.

In a good way.

 

Do you ever get tired, dear,

Of visiting me when I’m like this?

I can’t imagine that it’s easy,

Forcing some reaction out of a shell.

But you make me shiver and gasp, every time.

In a good way, darling.

In a good way.

 

I never want to grow old.

I’m afraid of wrinkles and lines,

Snapping, brittle bones that will break within me.

But you, the sightless wind, the sigh in the air,

You make me forget.

In a good way, darling.

In a good way.

girl-on-dock

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My friend, The Wind.

  1. A tender and beautiful metaphor of wind. I picture it in my mind you standing outside & the wind just happens to catch you by surprise and comfort you and be next to you in the moments of a friend.

    Another one of my favorite poems by you. 🙂

    P.S Don’t forget to check your email. 🙂 You’re doing a great job Jamie. See, I believe in you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

