In Progress 

“I’m not saying you can just wash your hands of this,” she said shakily. “But you can stop. You can stop, right here, right now.”

“Would that make it better?”he  asked. “Would stopping make me any less damned, at this point?”

She was quiet for a long time. 

“…No,” she eventually answered. “No, I don’t think it would.”

“Oh,” he murmured. Surprisingly, he didn’t feel vindicated nor disappointed, like he thought he might. 

He didn’t feel anything at all.

“Then I’m not done.”

2 thoughts on “In Progress 

  1. This has a lovely setup, though I feel the ending was a bit rushed. He’s not done with what, exactly? It might just be me, but the ending did leave me with a sense of ‘what just happened?’ Otherwise, still a lovely piece that I enjoyed greatly. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, it was definitely a quickie, lol. It’s been a challenge to keep up with my WordPress blog lately, to be honest. I have a lot of other projects I’m juggling…. so my posts here tend to get my attention when I’m tired, haha. I guess it results in different writing?

      Like

Leave a Reply

